Book Review – The Alpha Crew series 1 & 2

Posted May 30, 2016 by Kathy in 3 Stars, 4 stars, Book Review / 4 Comments

Book Review – The Alpha Crew series 1 & 2At the Edge Series: Alpha Crew #1
by Laura Griffin
Published by Pocket Star on March 7, 2016
Genres: Adult Romantic Suspense
Pages: 122
Format: Ebook
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars
three-flames

Dive into Part One of this heart-pounding romantic suspense story, which continues in Edge of Surrender: Alpha Crew Part Two!

When Emma Wright’s government plane goes down over the Philippine jungle, she’s forced to survive alone until an ultra-elite SEAL team goes in after her. As the leader of Alpha Crew, Ryan Owen is no stranger to challenges, but he’s never tackled anything quite like this sexy, smart, and resourceful woman. The mission is to get Emma home safely, but danger is everywhere, and Ryan’s unexpected desire for Emma could be a deadly distraction.

Back home in California, Ryan’s mission is over—but Emma’s has just begun. She knows her plane crash was no accident, and she’s determined to uncover the truth about what happened—even if her quest for answers puts her at risk. Torn between duty and desire, Ryan searches for a way win Emma’s heart while protecting her from an invisible enemy who wants her dead.

The thrilling conclusion to this Alpha Crew romance is just weeks away!

My Review

The Alpha Crew is a heart-pounding series with steamy romance and non-stop action.

At the Edge is part 1 of Laura Griffin’s new series Alpha Crew. Emma Wright is the personal assistant to the wife of a US Ambassador. Moving to the Philippines had been the new start in life she needed. But her position puts her in danger as their plane crashes in the deep jungle of a remote island. Emma is surrounded by dangerous creatures and rebels. She keeps her wits to survive and is thankful when she is rescued by an ultra-elite SEAL team. Ryan Owen, the leader of the Alpha Crew SEAL team, has been on many missions. But the mission to rescue the plane crash survivors feels different. The moment he lays eyes on Emma’s file he is drawn to her. And when they meet in the jungle there is an instant attraction and connection. But Ryan must put his feelings aside and focus on getting Emma and his team home safely. Weeks have passed after the crash and Emma finds herself in danger again. Someone is trying to kill her and Ryan will do everything to keep her safe. But can they avoid their attraction? You’ll have to read this book to find out!

At the Edge is the first book I’ve read from Laura Griffin and I was blown away from her writing. The story has action and suspense that had me reading quickly to find out what happened next. Ryan and Emma’s story was sizzling from the moment they met. It wasn’t just the steamy physical attraction but it was also the emotional connection they made. Emma is a really good strong female character. Even though she is in danger Emma stays calm and does what it takes to survive.

At the Edge is perfect for fans of Romantic Suspense with military heroes. This ends in a cliffhanger and I’m diving in to part 2, Edge of Surrender, next!

I received this book as a member of the XOXperts, XOXO After Dark’s official street team, in exchange for an honest review. Visit XOXOAfterDark.com for the best in romance, urban fantasy and women’s fiction.

Rating Report
Plot
four-stars
Characters
four-stars
Writing
four-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Overall: four-stars
Divider

My Review

The Alpha Crew is a heart-pounding series with steamy romance and non-stop action.

Edge of Surrender is part 2 of the Alpha Crew series and you need to read At the Edge first to really understand the series. You’ll also want to read the first book so you don’t miss the sizzling scenes of Emma and Ryan together!

Edge of Surrender picks up right where the first book left off. I am so happy that I had both books on my shelf since there is no way I would have been able to wait for this conclusion. The action continues and the author created scenes so vivid I can easily see this in a movie. Emma is still in danger and Ryan is determined to keep her safe. But instead of being a damsel in distress Emma takes action in her own hands to survive. Ryan is the leader of the Alpha Crew SEAL team and will always want to protect the innocent. He admires Emma’s courage and they work together to get justice for her fallen comrades. The connection between Emma and Ryan grows stronger in this book but I wanted more in their story. I wanted to see more of an emotional connection that didn’t involve dodging bullets. Also the ending was so abrupt there was no closure for their story. Readers get a taste of the chemistry between supporting characters so I hope there is more to come in this series.

Overall the Alpha Crew series is off to a good start. Both parts are a quick read to add excitement and steamy romance to your day. I look forward to reading more from author Laura Griffin.

I received this book as a member of the XOXperts, XOXO After Dark’s official street team, in exchange for an honest review. Visit XOXOAfterDark.com for the best in romance, urban fantasy and women’s fiction.

Alpha

About Laura Griffin

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Laura Griffin started her career in journalism before venturing into the world of writing romantic suspense. Her books have won numerous awards, including two RITA Awards (for Scorched and Whisper of Warning) and a Daphne du Maurier Award (Untraceable). Laura currently lives in Austin where she is working on her next book.

Series:
* Tracers
* The Glass Sisters
* Moreno and Hart Mysteries
* Borderline Series

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2016 New Release Challenge

Tags:

Divider
Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Subscribe to our mailing list

4 responses to “Book Review – The Alpha Crew series 1 & 2

    • Kathy

      I liked the suspense so I need to read her other books. Thanks Eva for stopping by!