Audiobook Review – The Whispering Skull

Posted October 27, 2015 by Kathy in 4 stars, Audiobook Review, Book Review / 0 Comments

Audiobook Review – The Whispering SkullThe Whispering Skull Series: Lockwood and Co. #2
by Jonathan Stroud
Narrator: Katie Lyons
on September 16, 2014
Genres: Middle Grade Paranormal
Pages: 448
Length: 11 hours and 37 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble

In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood & Co. hasn't made much progress. Quill Kipps and his team of Fittes agents keep swooping in on Lockwood's investigations. Finally, in a fit of anger, Anthony challenges his rival to a contest: the next time the two agencies compete on a job, the losing side will have to admit defeat in the Times newspaper. Things look up when a new client, Mr. Saunders, hires Lockwood & Co. to be present at the excavation of Edmund Bickerstaff, a Victorian doctor who reportedly tried to communicate with the dead. Saunders needs the coffin sealed with silver to prevent any supernatural trouble. All goes well—until George's curiosity attracts a horrible phantom. Back home at Portland Row, Lockwood accuses George of making too many careless mistakes. Lucy is distracted by urgent whispers coming from the skull in the ghost jar. Then the team is summoned to DEPRAC headquarters. Kipps is there too, much to Lockwood's annoyance. Bickerstaff's coffin was raided and a strange glass object buried with the corpse has vanished. Inspector Barnes believes the relic to be highly dangerous, and he wants it found.

Purple Mini Review

The Whispering Skull is another exciting adventure with the Lockwood & Co. This is a must read for readers of all ages!


The Whispering Skull is the second book in the Lockwood & Co series. It is not necessary to read the first book, The Screaming Staircase, but I suggest you do to see how this trio met and the excitement from that big case.  The Whispering Skull continues where we left off in the first book.  Lockwood, Lucy and George had just solved the huge case of the screaming staircase and have received some publicity from it.  But they are still struggling with competing against the larger agencies, especially their rival Quill Kipps and his team of Fittes agents. No matter what they do Kipps is close by eager to make them look like fools.  But an important case brings both agencies together so the race to solve the case first is on. This case is their most dangerous one so far and all of London is at risk. To make things more complicated Lucy must deal with the whispering skull in their house, which she can only hear due to her special ability. This second book upped the level of creepiness with the graphic scenes the author was so clear to describe. And the humor is still here with the addition of the sarcastic comments from the whispering skull and George. My only wish is that there was more focus on the relationships of the trio. They are still a new team and there is still a lot that they don’t know about each other. But with the shocking ending I hope this is a sign the author will reveal more about each other past.


The Whispering Skull has something for everyone to enjoy – mystery, ghost stories, suspense, humor and fun characters! I can’t wait to read the next book!


Audiobook Review


When I started listening to this audiobook I hadn’t noticed who the narrator was.  I assumed it was going to be the same narrator from The Screaming Staircase audiobook, whom I loved.  But as I listened I noticed that some of the voices were different. Narrator Katie Lyons performance was really good but I missed how some of the characters stood out, especially the voice for George. So it took me a while to get used to a new narrator but in the end I thought Katie Lyons did a great job. She had the right emotions for the scenes and she gave me chills as the spooky visitors.  This series is so much fun to listen to and I highly recommend to everyone to try this audiobook!

Rating Report
Audiobook Performance
Overall: four-stars

About Jonathan Stroud

Jonathan Anthony Stroud is an author of fantasy books, mainly for children and youths.

Stroud grew up in St Albans where he enjoyed reading books, drawing pictures, and writing stories. Between the ages seven and nine he was often ill, so he spent most of his days in the hospital or in his bed at home. To escape boredom he would occupy himself with books and stories. After he completed his studies of English literature at the University of York, he worked in London as an editor for the Walker Books store. He worked with different types of books there and this soon led to the writing of his own books. During the 1990s, he started publishing his own works and quickly gained success.

In May 1999, Stroud published his first children's novel, Buried Fire, which was the first of a line of fantasy/mythology children's books.

Among his most prominent works are the bestselling Bartimaeus Trilogy. A special feature of these novels compared to others of their genre is that Stroud examines the stereotypes and ethics of the magician class and the enslaved demons. This is done by examining the perspective of the sarcastic and slightly egomaniacal djinni Bartimaeus. The books in this series are The Amulet of Samarkand, The Golem's Eye, and Ptolemy's Gate, his first books to be published in the United States.

Stroud lives in St Albans, Hertfordshire, with his two children, Isabelle and Arthur, and his wife Gina, an illustrator of children's books.


Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Subscribe to our mailing list