Book Review – The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

Posted July 28, 2015 by Kathy in 5 stars, Book Review / 4 Comments

Book Review – The Coincidence of Coconut CakeThe Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E Reichert
Published by Gallery Books on July 21, 2015
Genres: Adult Contemporary Romance
Pages: 318
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

YOU'VE GOT MAIL meets HOW TO EAT A CUPCAKE in this delightful novel about a talented chef and the food critic who brings down her restaurant—whose chance meeting turns into a delectable romance of mistaken identities.

In downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Lou works tirelessly to build her beloved yet struggling French restaurant, Luella’s, into a success. She cheerfully balances her demanding business and even more demanding fiancé…until the morning she discovers him in the buff—with an intern.

Witty yet gruff British transplant Al is keeping himself employed and entertained by writing scathing reviews of local restaurants in the Milwaukee newspaper under a pseudonym. When an anonymous tip sends him to Luella’s, little does he know he’s arrived on the worst day of the chef’s life. The review practically writes itself: underdone fish, scorched sauce, distracted service—he unleashes his worst.

The day that Al’s mean-spirited review of Luella’s runs, the two cross paths in a pub: Lou drowning her sorrows, and Al celebrating his latest publication. As they chat, Al playfully challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee and she’s game—but only if they never discuss work, which Al readily agrees to. As they explore the city’s local delicacies and their mutual attraction, Lou’s restaurant faces closure, while Al’s column gains popularity. It’s only a matter of time before the two fall in love…but when the truth comes out, can Lou overlook the past to chase her future?

Set in the lovely, quirky heart of Wisconsin, THE COINCIDENCE OF COCONUT CAKE is a charming love story of misunderstandings, mistaken identity, and the power of food to bring two people together.

Purple My Review

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake was addictive! This is a charming romance and I loved it!

 

What did I like about The Coincidence of Coconut Cake?

 

This story is refreshing and fun. This was a romance with a little drama, the level that some of us might experience. So this was a nice change of pace from romances with a dominating or really dark character. The romance was sweet and passionate. The more time Al and Lou spent together the stronger their attraction and connection became. I loved their dates which were perfect for their love of food. Their dates also gave a view of Milwaukee that I never imagined existed and now would love to visit.

 

The main characters Al and Lou were so easy for me to fall in love with! They are both working hard for their dream: Lou a gourmet chef and owner of a new restaurant, Al a journalist working hard to move onto a more prestigious newspaper. They both love their careers but there is something missing in both of their lives. What is missing is that spark and excitement which they finally feel when they meet each other. As they discover they share a passion of food you see their connection and attraction growing with each date. I found they were easy to relate to and even though the story was predictable I couldn’t help myself from still praying they would live happily ever after. I also loved the supporting cast, especially John, Gertrude and Otto, who added humor and words of wisdom to Al and Lou.

What didn’t I like about The Coincidence of Coconut Cake?

 

I wish there was an epilogue. I hated saying goodbye to Al and Lou so I would have to love to know what happened to them. Did they get married and lived happily ever after? And what happened to John. I loved these characters and wish I could have spent a little more time with them.

 

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake is a delightful read. This is a perfect escape from the real world. Fans of You Got Mail and Sleepless in Seattle would love this story of two strangers that are connected by a misunderstanding and discover their soulmates. I look forward to reading more from author Amy E. Reichert.

 

I received this book as a member of the XOXperts, XOXO After Dark’s official street team, in exchange for an honest review.Visit XOXOAfterDark.com for the best in romance, urban fantasy and women’s fiction.

This book meets the COYER Summer Scavenger Hunt #39, a book with no living thing on the cover.

 

Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
five-stars
Audiobook Performance
zero-stars
Overall: five-stars

Purple Bookish Mood Board

Mood boards are a collage consisting of images and text. Nereyda at Mostly YA Book Obsessed has started sharing her Book Mood Boards which combines her creativity and love of books. Boards are a fun way to illustrate a story and you have to check them out Nereyda’s creations.

 

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert

 

 

I loved The Coincidence of Coconut Cake. The main characters Al and Lou start off as friends even though they both are attracted to each other. Lou shows Al around Milwaukee which leads to some fun and romantic dates:

  • Dancing in the rain
  • Cooking together
  • A Brewers tailgate and game

Of course I couldn’t make this board without the coconut cake.

I really enjoyed The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and I hope you have the chance to read this!

 

About Amy E Reichert

Amy Reichert earned her MA in Literature from Marquette University, and honed her writing and editing skills as a technical writer (which is exactly as exciting as it sounds). As a newly minted member of the local library board, she loves helping readers find new books to love. She’s a life-long Wisconsin resident with (allegedly) a very noticeable accent, a patient husband, and two too-smart-for-their-own-good kids. When time allows, she loves to read, collect more cookbooks than she could possibly use, and test the limits of her DVR.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2015 New Release Challenge

Tags:

Divider
Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Subscribe to our mailing list

4 responses to “Book Review – The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

    • Kathy

      Thanks Grace! I was hooked on this book from the beginning. I can’t wait to read more from this author!