Book Review – Dark Metropolis

Posted December 15, 2014 by Kathy in 2.0 Stars, Book Review / 6 Comments

Book Review – Dark MetropolisDark Metropolis Series: Dark Metropolis #1
by Jaclyn Dolamore
Published by Disney Hyperion on June 17, 2014
Genres: Young Adult Paranormal
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover
Source: Won
Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-stars

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

My Review 4

Unfortunately I didn’t like Dark Metropolis.  I love the premise of this but I just couldn’t get into the story.

What did I not like?

I would have liked more background of the setting.  If it wasn’t for the cover (which I absolutely love) and the mention of the 1930’s in the synopsis I would have not known the timeframe for the story.  I was looking forward to being transported to the 1930’s but with the way this is written the story could have taken place at any time. The society in Dark Metropolis has people with magic powers and has dealt with war but bits of this information is given in the story.  And the information is spread out so wide that I had to read further into the book to get a better understanding of what was going on. The premise has so much potential but I just wasn’t excited with this story.

I also thought the characters could have been developed better.  The story is written in 3 point-of-views: Thea, Freddy and Nan. I like multiple POVs but with this book I felt the switch between the POVs wasn’t smooth and I made no connection with the characters.  I can’t say if I like them or hate them.

The story of magic, zombies and a revolution could have been so exciting but Dark Metropolis has a slow pace and wasn’t a thrilling read.  This book just wasn’t for me.

**Thank you to Shana at A Book Vacation for the copy of this book**

Overall 3

didnt-like-it

Rating Report
Plot
two-stars
Characters
two-stars
Writing
two-stars
Pacing
two-stars
Overall: two-stars

Tags:

Divider
Nose Graze - WordPress themes and plugins for the creative blogger

Subscribe to our mailing list

6 responses to “Book Review – Dark Metropolis

    • Kathy

      I’m not a huge fan of zombies but I wanted something exciting to read. Too bad this didn’t turn out to be one. Thanks Katherine!

    • Kathy

      Thanks Rosa! This is getting mixed reviews but unfortunately it didn’t live up to my expectations.